DU SOL Departments - School of Open Learning

The Delhi University School of Open Learning is established in the year 1962 and constituted with a total of 13 departments in their whole campus for Undergraduate and Postgraduate courses. The DU SOL has various departments of Undergraduate and Postgraduate levels in Arts and Commerce disciplines such as Bachelors of Arts (Program), Bachelors of Honors, Bachelors of Commerce (Program), Bachelors of Commerce (Honors), and other degree courses.

Every year more than a lakh, students enroll themselves in DU SOL. With around a total of lakh students, DU SOL is one of the largest and institutions that offer the quality of education to their pursuing students. The minimum required percentage to get admission in the course of DU SOL is that a student must have completed 10+2 with good percentage marks to apply for their respective choice of course or subject.

What is the role of the Department in the degree course?

The department plays a crucial role in any course. It is a root structure that provides the education, faculty, curriculum or map out the whole system of the particular course. The department offers the degree with education to their enrolled student. Manages all the activities, internal, assessment, and much more for the growth of the student. Its committee regulates the unbiased system of education through online or distance mode.

Aspirants can go through at the official web portal of DU SOL and select the courses or departments that are per their choice to make their respective careers. Check out all the department lists offered by the Delhi University School of Open Learning along with the course duration of UG and PG level programs.

1. Department of Commerce

The Department of Commerce imparts the quality of competent faculty staff and members. Each faculty is actively engaged in the research team and publishes their own research papers or journals every year. The department offers the below-mentioned following programmes of courses to study at their respective UG or PG level.

B.Com Program ( Bachelors of Commerce) B.Com (H) Bachelors of Commerce in Honors
M.Com (Masters of Commerce)

2. Department of Political Science

The Department of Political Science (PS), School of Open Learning is led by Dr. Devender Kakar (Associate Professor). The Department is consists of highly competent faculty staff. This department is a peer to the renewed and research staff that also reviewed the journals during the examination every year. The Department offers these below programmes of study:

Bachelors of Arts (Honors) Political Science Masters in Arts (Political Science) 

3. Department of Economics

The Department is a premier institution on the whole campus in the development, teaching, and research related to the commerce disciplines. The department consist of these degree courses:

B.A. (Programme) B.COM

4. Department of English

The Department of English is headed by Sh. P.K. Satapathy (Assistant Professor). The programmes offered by the departments:

B.A (Hons) English B.Com
B.A (programme)

5. Department of History

This Department facilitates the history-related courses, subjects, events which all will comprise for the students. The following department provides these subject or courses.

B.A (Programme) M.A

Other rest Departments of Delhi University School of Open Learning (DU SOL)

Department of Hindi Department of Mathematics
Department of Nutrition & Health Education Department of Punjabi
Department of Sanskrit Department of Tamil
Department of Urdu Department of Environmental Studies
Department of Education Retired Faculty of SOL